Thomas Strasser

Privatdoz. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

Personal profile

Research interests

Thomas Strasser received a master's and a PhD degree from the Technische Universität Wien (TU Wien) and he was awarded the Venia Docendi (habilitation) in the field of automation from the same university. For several years, he has been a senior scientist in the Center for Energy of the AIT Austrian Institute of Technology. His main responsibilities involve the strategic development of smart grid automation and validation research projects as well as the mentoring/supervising of junior scientists and PhD candidates. Before joining AIT, Dr Strasser spent more than 6 years as a senior researcher investigating advanced and reconfigurable automation and control systems at PROFACTOR research. He is also active as a docent at TU Wien.

He is the co-author of more than 250 scientific publications (journal & conference papers, book editorials & chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, etc.) as well as two patents in the above-mentioned areas. Thomas Strasser has presented the results of his research work at various international and national conferences, workshops, events, and seminars. He is an active member of various program committees of scientific conferences and he serves as an associate editor of IEEE, Hindawi, and Springer Journals.

Dr Strasser has been involved for more than two decades in various national and international research projects in various roles (coordinator, WP leader, principal investigator, researcher). In addition, he is an evaluator of research proposals and projects for several national and European funding agencies. He is a member of international IEC and IEEE standardization working groups and as a senior member of IEEE involved in different activities of IES (AdCom member-at-large 2018-2020, energy TC cluster delegate to AdCom 2020-2021), SMCS (BoG member-at-large 2018-2020, VP for Systems Science & Engineering 2021-2022), PES (Austria Chapter Secretary 2017-2023, Austria Chapter Chair 2024-), Austria Section (secretary 2015-2017, vice-chair 2020, chair 2021-2023) and SYSC (SMCS representative and AdCom member-at-large 2021-2022). He serves also as the Austrian representative in the CIGRE Study Committee B5 after six years of representing Austria in the Study Committee C6. He is an Associate Editor and editorial board member of several IEEE and Springer journals.

Expertise related to UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This person’s work contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 7 - Affordable and Clean Energy
  • SDG 9 - Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure
  • SDG 13 - Climate Action

Education/Academic qualification

Automation, Habilitation, Distributed and reconfigurable automation approaches applied to industrial systems

Jan 2011Dec 2017

Award Date: 13 Dec 2017

Mechanical Engineering, PhD, Einsatz von künstlichen neuronalen Netzen zur Messdatenplausibilitätsprüfung bei automatischen Messungen an Motorprüfständen, TU Wien

May 2001Sept 2003

Award Date: 23 Sept 2003

Industrial Engineering, Master, Entwicklung einer mobilen Roboterplattform, TU Wien

Oct 1996May 2001

Award Date: 2 May 2001

External positions

Professor, TU Wien

13 Dec 2017 → …

Lecturer, TU Wien

Mar 2011Dec 2017

Keywords

  • TK Electrical engineering. Electronics Nuclear engineering
  • Smart Grids
  • Power and Energy Systems
  • Power Utility Automation
  • Automation and Control

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics where Thomas Strasser is active. These topic labels come from the works of this person. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • 1 Similar Profiles

Thomas Strasser

Privatdoz. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

Persönliches Profil

Forschungsgebiete

Thomas Strasser schloss sein Studium an der Technischen Universität Wien mit einem Master und einem PhD ab und erhielt von derselben Universität die Venia Docendi (Habilitation) im Bereich Automatisierung. Seit mehreren Jahren ist er als Senior Scientist im Center for Energy des AIT Austrian Institute of Technology tätig. Zu seinen Hauptaufgaben gehören die strategische Entwicklung von Smart Grid Automation und Validierungsforschungsprojekten sowie die Betreuung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern und Doktoranden. Bevor er zum AIT kam, verbrachte Dr. Strasser mehr als 6 Jahre als Senior Researcher bei PROFACTOR research, wo er fortschrittliche und rekonfigurierbare Automatisierungs- und Steuerungssysteme untersuchte. Er ist auch als Dozent an der TU Wien tätig.

Er ist Mitautor von mehr als 250 wissenschaftlichen Publikationen (Zeitschriften- und Konferenzbeiträge, Buchbeiträge und -kapitel, Konferenzberichte, technische Berichte usw.) sowie von zwei Patenten in den oben genannten Bereichen. Thomas Strasser hat die Ergebnisse seiner Forschungsarbeit auf verschiedenen internationalen und nationalen Konferenzen, Workshops, Veranstaltungen und Seminaren präsentiert. Er ist aktives Mitglied in verschiedenen Programmkomitees wissenschaftlicher Konferenzen und fungiert als Mitherausgeber von IEEE, Hindawi und Springer Journals.

Dr. Strasser ist seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten an verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten in unterschiedlichen Rollen (Koordinator, Arbeitsgruppenleiter, Principal Investigator, Forscher) beteiligt. Darüber hinaus ist er Gutachter von Forschungsanträgen und -projekten für mehrere nationale und europäische Förderstellen. Er ist Mitglied in internationalen IEC- und IEEE-Normungsarbeitsgruppen und als Senior-Mitglied des IEEE an verschiedenen Aktivitäten des IES (AdCom member-at-large 2018-2020, energy TC cluster delegate to AdCom 2020-2021), SMCS (BoG member-at-large 2018-2020, VP for Systems Science & Engineering 2021-2022), PES (Austria Chapter Secretary 2017-2023, Austria Chapter Chair 2024-), Austria Section (secretary 2015-2017, vice-chair 2020, chair 2021-2023) und SYSC (SMCS representative and AdCom member-at-large 2021-2022). Er ist auch der österreichische Vertreter im CIGRE Study Committee B5, nachdem er sechs Jahre lang Österreich im Study Committee C6 vertreten hat. Er ist Associate Editor und Mitglied des Editorial Board mehrerer IEEE- und Springer-Fachzeitschriften.

Kompetenzen im Bereich UN SDGs

2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieser Person leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

  • SDG 7 – Erschwingliche und saubere Energie
  • SDG 9 – Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
  • SDG 13 – Klimaschutzmaßnahmen

Bildung/Akademische Qualifikationen

Automatisierungstechnik, Habilitation, Distributed and reconfigurable automation approaches applied to industrial systems

Jan. 2011Dez. 2017

Datum der Bewilligung: 13 Dez. 2017

Maschinenbau, Promovend, Einsatz von künstlichen neuronalen Netzen zur Messdatenplausibilitätsprüfung bei automatischen Messungen an Motorprüfständen, TU Wien

Mai 2001Sept. 2003

Datum der Bewilligung: 23 Sept. 2003

Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen - Maschinenbau, Mastergrad, Entwicklung einer mobilen Roboterplattform, TU Wien

Okt. 1996Mai 2001

Datum der Bewilligung: 2 Mai 2001

Externe Posten

Professor/-in, TU Wien

13 Dez. 2017 → …

Lektor, TU Wien

März 2011Dez. 2017

Schlagwörter

  • TK Electrical engineering. Electronics Nuclear engineering
  • Smart Grids
  • Power and Energy Systems
  • Power Utility Automation
  • Automation and Control

Fingerprint

Ergründen Sie die Forschungsthemen, in denen Thomas Strasser aktiv ist. Diese Themenbezeichnungen stammen aus den Werken dieser Person. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.
  • 1 Ähnliche Profile